13 min read
Tideflow and Profound are the only two of these four whose own public pages claim the full loop: find where you're missing from AI answers, recommend a fix, help create it, and measure what happened afterward. Semrush and Ahrefs are strong at finding gaps, and each offers content and outreach tools alongside that.
The right choice depends on where you start. If you want one tool for the whole loop, shortlist Tideflow for self-serve, publicly priced coverage of 5 surfaces, or Profound for 8 engines plus enterprise governance. If you already pay for Semrush or Ahrefs, use it for discovery and SEO foundations. Then decide whether the missing fix-and-measure stages justify adding a dedicated tool.
How this list was built: each tool is judged on what its own public pages document for each of the four stages, plus verified pricing. We didn't run hands-on tests or benchmarks. Tideflow publishes this page, so we hold its claims to the same standard as everyone else's and call out its limits plainly.
At a glance
Scroll horizontally to see all columns →
| Option | Best for | Key differentiator | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tideflow | Startups, brands, and agencies that want the full loop, self-serve | Gap plan → reviewed draft → MCP handoff → crawler and conversion measurement, each signal labeled separately | $99–$499/mo, about $0.40 per prompt-surface on Starter or Scale |
| Profound | Enterprises needing engine breadth and governance | 8 named engines, AI Marketer that rewrites and stages pages, SOC 2/SCIM/RBAC | Agency Growth $399/mo per client workspace, as listed on its pricing page per search; Enterprise custom |
| Semrush | SEO teams adding AI visibility and earned-media outreach | AI market share tracking inside an SEO suite, plus "AI PR" | SEO + AI Search from $199/mo, as listed on its pricing page per search; prompt quantities per plan not stated |
| Ahrefs | Researching AI mentions against a large prompt database | Brand Radar alongside Ahrefs' SEO data and content add-ons | Brand Radar AI from $199/mo; custom prompt packages from $50/mo |
Prices checked September 2026. Vendors price in different units (per account, per client workspace, per add-on), so the headline prices above can't be compared directly.
How each tool covers the four stages
This matrix separates what each vendor documents from how it frames it.
Scroll horizontally to see all columns →
| Stage | Tideflow | Profound | Semrush | Ahrefs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Find the gap | Tracks your prompts on 5 surfaces; records mentioned vs cited, rank, competitors, sources | 8 named engines; prompt demand "from billions of real user conversations"; sentiment, FactCheck, ChatGPT Shopping | Prompt-level visibility and AI market share; 317M+ prompt database | Brand Radar tracks mentions, citations, sentiment; large prompt database |
| Recommend the fix | A gap plan for each opportunity: improve a page, create content, or get included in sources AI cites | AI Marketer "identifies the work worth doing" | Not shown linking AI gaps to fix tasks | Not shown linking Brand Radar gaps to fix tasks |
| Create the fix | Researched, answer-first draft you review; MCP handoff to your coding agent | Rewrites pages with citation decay, stages them in your CMS, builds missing pages, creates PR and social creative | Content tools with real-time scoring; AI PR pitches | Content Kit, AI content-gap tools, technical SEO patches |
| Measure the result | Verified crawler logs, AI referral and conversion analytics tied to landing pages; method documented | Agent Analytics for bot views, citations, referrals; method not publicly described | Post-publish AI referral or crawler tracking not shown | Web analytics and Enterprise reports combining GSC, analytics, LLM visibility; AI referral detection not stated |
The pattern: all four can find gaps. The separation happens at "recommend" and "measure," where the SEO suites offer adjacent modules rather than a connected workflow.
Tideflow: Best for a self-serve, publicly priced full loop
Tideflow belongs here because its public pages spell out every stage and its limits in more detail than any other tool in this set. It monitors prompts daily on ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overview. For each gap it creates a gap plan: improve an existing page, create new content, or pursue inclusion in sources AI already trusts (Tideflow).
The create stage produces a researched draft that you review before anything ships. Tideflow then hands the approved content to your AI coding agent through MCP, and the agent acknowledges the exact revision it received. You keep your existing site stack with no CMS migration.
Measurement is where Tideflow is most specific. A crawler visit counts as verified only when Cloudflare's verifiedBot metadata is true. Tideflow also states outright that a crawler visit is a discovery signal, not proof of indexing or of inclusion in an answer (Tideflow). Its conversion attribution uses a single session and the landing page, so it isn't multi-touch; visits affected by Do Not Track, GPC, or blocked storage may not be attributed.
Pricing (Tideflow pricing):
- Starter: $99/mo ($990/yr) for 1 brand, 50 prompts, 100 Agent Credits, 3 users
- Growth: $199/mo ($1,990/yr) for 3 brands, 100 prompts, 200 credits, 10 users
- Scale: $499/mo ($4,990/yr) for 10 brands, 250 prompts, 500 credits, unlimited users
- Extra credits cost $39 per 100, which is about 10 content pieces (Tideflow vs Peec AI)
- There's a 7-day free trial with no card required: 1 brand, 10 prompts, 10 credits (Tideflow pricing)
All plans monitor all 5 surfaces, so Starter works out to $99 ÷ (50 prompts × 5 surfaces) ≈ $0.40 per prompt-surface per month.
Limitations:
- Tideflow doesn't track Claude, Grok, Copilot, DeepSeek or Meta AI.
- The publishing step assumes an MCP-connected coding agent works on your site. Monitoring, gap plans and drafts work without one.
- The company is early-stage, with no public reviews yet.
- It doesn't list enterprise governance features such as SSO or SOC 2.
- On Scale, 250 prompts spread across 10 brands is 25 prompts per brand if you split them evenly. That's thin for large clients.
Profound: Best for enterprise breadth and governance
Profound is the broadest option and corrects an outdated assumption that it only monitors. Its homepage names 8 engines: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini, Grok, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek and Google AI Overviews (Profound). Google AI Mode isn't named.
Its AI Marketer "identifies the work worth doing, drafts it, and pings you for approval." Profound says the AI Marketer can:
- rewrite pages with citation decay and stage them in your CMS
- build pages for questions you have no answer for
- open up content AI crawlers can't currently read
- produce social, launch, PR and sponsored-answer creative
Native CMS staging is a real advantage over Tideflow's agent-based handoff if your team works in a CMS rather than a code repo.
On measurement, Profound offers Agent Analytics to "understand how bots view, cite, and refer to your pages." It also offers benchmarking, sentiment, and SKU-level ChatGPT Shopping tracking. It says the AI Marketer "learns from what worked, closing the loop between action and result." The homepage doesn't explain how conversation data is sourced, how bot data is collected, or whether conversions are tracked natively. Treat "prove impact" as Profound's framing until a demo shows the method.
For enterprise buyers, governance may decide the matter on its own: RBAC, SCIM, SOC 2 and 200+ integrations.
Pricing: as listed on Profound's pricing page per search:
- a free one-time trial of 10 prompts run once on ChatGPT only
- Agency Growth at $399/mo with 400 credits per client workspace
- a custom-quoted Enterprise plan
The 8-engine headline likely depends on the tier. NBound's June 2026 audit reports 3 engines on Growth, with Claude, Gemini and Copilot on Enterprise only (NBound).
Agency math, same unit: Tideflow Scale works out to $499 ÷ (250 prompts × 5 surfaces) ≈ $0.40 per prompt-surface per month, shared across up to 10 brands. The same calculation isn't reliable for Profound Agency Growth. Its per-workspace prompt and engine counts (reported as 100 prompts and 3 engines) come from third-party summaries rather than Profound's own pricing page. The structural tradeoff is clear either way. Profound gives each client its own workspace and credit pool. Tideflow shares 250 prompts and 500 credits across all 10 brands and covers fewer engines. For a detailed side-by-side, see Tideflow AI vs Profound.
Semrush: Best for SEO teams adding AI visibility and earned media
Semrush positions Semrush One as "the unified SEO and AI search solution." Its AI Visibility product lets you "track prompt-level visibility and analyze AI market share against your competition," drawing on a database of 317M+ LLM prompts (Semrush). That figure describes the size of the database, not prompts run live for your brand.
The create stage offers two routes:
- Content: "SEO and AI-ready content in minutes," with real-time scoring.
- AI PR: "find relevant media trusted by LLMs, use AI to create press-ready pitches."
AI PR matters more than it might look. Ranqo, itself a vendor, reports that in its study of 102 brands, only 2.9% of 149,912 AI citations pointed to a brand's own domain (Ranqo). If that pattern holds, a fix stage limited to editing your own pages misses most of what AI actually cites. Semrush also offers Enterprise AIO, a Semrush MCP and a ChatGPT integration.
What's missing from the loop: the homepage doesn't show AI gaps generating specific fix tasks, or tracking AI referrals and crawler visits after you publish. NBound's June 2026 audit adds several points that Semrush's own pages don't confirm (NBound):
- the base plan covers 2 engines (ChatGPT and AI Overviews)
- there's no crawler monitoring
- there's no content action layer
Ownership: Adobe has completed its acquisition of Semrush (Semrush), so packaging may change.
Pricing: as listed on Semrush's pricing page per search, SEO + AI Search plans are Starter at $199/mo, Pro+ at $299/mo and Advanced at $549/mo, plus custom Enterprise. Prompt and engine quantities per plan aren't stated, so no per-prompt comparison is possible.
Ahrefs: Best for AI mention research on top of Ahrefs' SEO data
Ahrefs Brand Radar lets you "track brand mentions, citations, and sentiment across AI chatbots," and Ahrefs claims 400M monthly AI prompts in its data (Ahrefs). Its pricing page describes Brand Radar AI, from $199/mo, as research across a database of 475M+ organic prompts plus tracking of your own prompts (Ahrefs pricing).
That distinction matters. Database research shows how AI treats a brand across modeled or observed demand. Tracked prompts show what happens on the specific questions your buyers ask.
Ahrefs has a tool for every stage, but they're separate products:
- Create: content marketing tools that "fill in content gaps with AI," an optional Content Kit add-on ($99/mo), and the Letaido agent platform.
- Fix: "Deploy technical SEO fixes to your website — no devs needed." Patches come with the Project Boost Max add-on at $200/mo per project.
- Measure: free real-time web analytics, and Enterprise reports combining GSC, web analytics and LLM visibility.
The inspected pages don't say whether the content tools read Brand Radar gaps, or whether the web analytics identifies AI-referred visits.
Pricing (per Ahrefs pricing): custom prompt packages run daily. Basic is $50/mo (for example, 80 prompts daily on 1 platform). Growth is $100/mo (for example, 100 prompts daily on 2 platforms). At Basic, that's $50 ÷ 80 ≈ $0.63 per prompt-platform per month. The pricing page doesn't say whether these packages require the $199 Brand Radar AI subscription, so the true all-in cost is unclear.
What "measure whether it worked" should mean in a demo
Every vendor here says it can show impact. The test is whether it keeps these signals separate:
- Mention or citation: did the answer change?
- Crawler visit: did an AI bot fetch the page? This is discovery, not inclusion.
- AI referral: did a person arrive from an AI assistant?
- Conversion: did that visit do something valuable?
None of these proves the others, and no tool can prove that your content change caused an answer to shift. AI answers vary between runs and between API and web-interface collection, and none of the four publishes how many times it samples each prompt. We cover the research on answer instability in Is AEO Really a New Discipline?. The differences between mentions, citations and recommendations are covered in AI Mentions, Citations, and Recommendations.
Ask each vendor these four questions in the demo:
- How many runs per prompt, and do you collect via API or the web interface?
- Can you show variance, so a change after publishing can be separated from normal churn?
- Does a detected gap become a specific task, and can I trace that task to the published page?
- How does an AI referral become a counted conversion, and what gets dropped?
A vendor that answers all four in writing is giving you something you can audit.
Which should you choose?
- Choose Tideflow if you want the full loop on a public, self-serve price, you're comfortable with 5 surfaces, and your site is worked on by an MCP-capable coding agent. Its Scale plan covers up to 10 brands on one price, which suits agencies with many smaller brands.
- Choose Profound if you need Claude, Grok, Copilot or DeepSeek coverage, native CMS staging, or enterprise governance such as SOC 2 and SCIM, and your budget supports per-workspace pricing.
- Choose Semrush if your team already lives in Semrush and your biggest gap is earned media. AI PR targets the off-site sources that dominate citations.
- Choose Ahrefs if you want AI mention research next to Ahrefs' backlink and ranking data, and you're willing to connect content and measurement yourself.
Many teams will pair tools. Organic rank and AI citation appear correlated, so an SEO suite remains useful for foundations. A dedicated loop tool adds tracked prompts, gap-to-fix plans and post-publish measurement. For the wider field, see Best AI Visibility Tools in 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Tideflow's publishing require an AI coding agent?
Only the publishing step does. Tideflow hands approved content to an MCP-connected coding agent working on your site. Monitoring, gap plans and drafts all work without one.
Can any of these tools prove a content change caused an AI answer to change?
No. AI answers are non-deterministic, and none of the four publishes its sampling method. The best any tool can do is show a sequence of signals, from citation shift to crawler visit to referral to conversion, and let you judge it against normal variance.
Which tool covers the most AI engines?
Profound names the most on its homepage, with 8 engines. Reported tier details suggest lower plans get fewer, so compare engine coverage on the plan you'd actually buy. Tideflow covers 5 surfaces, including Google AI Mode, on every plan.
Sources
- Tideflow AI, Tideflow AI — AI Visibility & Content Platform; Tideflow AI vs Profound: Which AI Visibility Platform Should You Choose?; Pricing & Early Access; Tideflow AI vs Peec AI: Which AI Visibility Platform Should You Choose?
- Profound, Pricing; The AI Platform to Power Your Marketing
- Semrush, SEO and AI Search Pricing; Your Unfair Advantage for Growing Brand Visibility
- Ahrefs, Pricing; AI Marketing Platform Powered by Big Data
- NBound Research, GEO Software Feature Comparison 2026 (June 2026)
- Ranqo, The Complete AI Search Visibility Suite

